Things to listen to

I’m bored at work today, and thought I would write up a short list of albums that I’ve been listening to for a long time and that have recently reminded me of their greatness. Most of these no ones cares about, so if you have a spare $2-3 to buy a used copy on Amazon or Ebay, or if you have better downloading skillz than myself, these can probably be had pretty easily. So, unordered:

Harvey Danger – Where Have All the Merrymakers Gone?
Harvey Danger – King James Version

Harvery Danger don’t exist anymore but they were from Seattle – the “Flagpole Sitta” gang. That song is awesome, but it doesn’t even begin to hint at the outright poetry that Sean Nelson belts out, song after song. Melodies are consitently superb, the pacing of both albums is excellent, and plus HD is like the only band I know of that has a guitar but features the bass as the lead instrument. Merrymakers is a little more accessible (and includes the song-version-of-cliff-notes for the movie Vertigo)but King James has some of the bands best songs (in my opinion) , including “This is the Thrilling Conversation You’ve Been Waiting For” and the closing track “The Same As Being in Love”. But this would be discluding gems like “Radio Silence” and “Old Hat” from the first album. Their third album is also really good but it’s different. A little coffeeshop-ish.

Badly Drawn Boy – The Hour of Bewilderbeast

I was just listening to this today for the first time in a while, it’s really good. Every song is excellent, including the minute-long ones. Long album which is made all the better by the unreasonably good closer, which you know is waiting for you at the end the whole time you’re listening.

Cake – Motorcade of Generosity

One of my favorite albums ever, Cake’s best by far. Just plain freaking genius. Greg Brown is one hell of a guitar player, so simple and effective. Front-to-back, unstoppable. The last song makes me cry everytime, but I’m not sure why since it’s a happy song. Maybe I’m sad the album’s over. booohoooo. p.s. what is it with me a last songs? That must be a criterion for a good album with me, since I’ve mentioned the last song on all 4 of the above.

The Wrens – Secaucus

Admittedly, not my favorite album ever, there are some slow parts (I HATE SLOW PARTS); but it’s a massive album, so I think that can be forgiven. Again, some unbleiavble songs on it – “Built in Girls”, “Still Complaining” are classics to me. Home recorded=bonus pts.

I’m tired of explaining why I like things, sorry if you were already hip to these things, and maybe you can hip me to some other things.

Reveille and Brick Mower tapes, along with the Brick Mower/Granny Frost split 7″ should be going up for sale this weekend. They’ll be REALLY cheap, and I’ll send an email to the mailing list when everything’s ready. Fanks.

Leave a Reply

